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RESIDENTIAL EVICTIONS: WHAT HOMEOWNERS NEED TO KNOW 

As of April 7, 2020 

This document is for informational purposes only, is not intended as legal advice, and does not substitute 

for consulting with a lawyer about specific facts and circumstances.  This document does not constitute a 

solicitation, and your use of this document does not create any attorney-client relationship between you 

and Lowenstein Sandler. 

REMOVALS 

Can I be removed from my home as a result of a foreclosure proceeding during the COVID-19 

emergency? 

No.  On March 19, 2020, New Jersey Governor Philip Murphy issued Executive Order 106, which 

immediately suspends evictions and removals throughout the state.  This is called an “eviction 

moratorium,” and it means that, except in rare circumstances, no homeowner may be removed from 

his or her home as a result of a foreclosure proceeding at this time.  You cannot be removed even if a 

final judgment of foreclosure has been entered and a sheriff’s sale of your property has taken place.  

The eviction moratorium does not affect court proceedings; instead, it prevents removals.  More 

information on court proceedings is below. 

How long will the eviction moratorium last? 

The eviction moratorium began on March 19, 2020, and it will last until two months after Governor 

Murphy declares an end to the COVID-19 health crisis, unless the Governor issues another Executive 

Order to end it sooner.   

Do I still need to pay my mortgage? 

Yes.  You will have to make your mortgage payments sooner or later.  If you need extra time, however, 

help is available.   

If you have a federally backed mortgage, you have the right to ask your mortgage servicer for 

forbearance (a pause on payments) to relieve financial hardship arising from the pandemic.  The 

recently adopted federal CARES Act requires servicers of federally backed mortgages to give struggling 

borrowers a 180-day grace period on payments.  The borrower may request one extension of up to 180 

days.  During the grace period, the servicer cannot charge you fees, penalties, or interest other than 

what you would owe if you had paid on time.   

In addition, Governor Murphy has announced some important relief for homeowners with mortgages, 

including those that are not backed by the federal government.  If you contact your mortgage servicer, 

you may be eligible for: (1) a 90-day grace period for mortgage payments; (2) assurance that the servicer 

will not report late or missed payments during this period to credit agencies; (3) a 60-day moratorium 

on servicers’ initiation of foreclosure sales or evictions; and (4) relief from certain fees and charges for at 

https://nj.gov/infobank/eo/056murphy/pdf/EO-106.pdf
https://www.lsnjlaw.org/Housing/Home-Ownership/Foreclosure/Pages/Foreclosure-Process.aspx
https://www.lsnjlaw.org/Housing/Home-Ownership/Foreclosure/Pages/Foreclosure-Process.aspx
https://www.congress.gov/116/bills/hr748/BILLS-116hr748eas.pdf
https://nj.gov/governor/news/news/562020/approved/20200328c.shtml
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least 90 days.  For more information, check the FAQs issued by the state.  You can also check the 

website of New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency for updates on available help and to 

access a list of counselors by county. 

Is there a national moratorium on evictions? 

Yes, for some homeowners.  On March 18, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 

(HUD) announced a foreclosure and eviction moratorium that applies to single-family homeowners with 

Federal Housing Authority (FHA)-insured mortgages for 60 days.  Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac will also 

suspend foreclosures and evictions for at least 60 days for homeowners behind on their mortgages.  In 

addition, the federal CARES Act makes it illegal for the servicer of a federally backed mortgage loan to 

evict you for 60 days from March 18 (in other words, until May 17).  This period could be extended.  The 

National Low Income Housing Coalition is tracking federal developments. 

COURT HEARINGS 

Can lenders still begin foreclosure proceedings during this period? 

Not if you hold a federally backed mortgage.  The federal CARES Act makes it illegal for the servicer of a 

federally backed mortgage loan to begin or move forward with foreclosure proceedings for sixty days 

from March 18 (until May 17).  For updates, check the website of the National Low Income Housing 

Coalition. 

Yes, if you don’t hold a federally backed mortgage.  The state Executive Order and related legislation 

specifically state that lenders can bring foreclosure actions during the time the order is in effect.  We 

understand that the Superior Court Office of Foreclosure is still accepting new cases and electronic 

filings in existing cases.  Under an agreement with the state, however, many lenders have suspended 

foreclosure sales and evictions until May 27 (60 days from March 28).  

Will the Foreclosure Office process cases during this period? 

That depends.  The Foreclosure Office administers parts of most foreclosure cases and manages most of 

the process when a foreclosure is “uncontested,” meaning that the homeowner did not file an answer to 

the complaint.  Under a March 27 order issued by the New Jersey Supreme Court, however, the Office of 

Foreclosure will not review or act on motions or judgments it received after March 1, 2020.  Thus, if the 

lender asks the Foreclosure Office after March 1 to enter a final judgment against the homeowner or 

seeks other action to advance the foreclosure, the Office will hold those requests for now.  The Supreme 

Court’s order will remain in effect until the Court lifts it.  Please check the New Jersey Courts website for 

updates on court orders affecting how and when uncontested foreclosure cases will proceed.  If you 

have questions about an uncontested foreclosure case that is pending, you can also try contacting the 

Office of Foreclosure at 609-421-6100 or Scco.Mailbox@njcourts.gov. 

Will the courts hear foreclosure cases during this period? 

Yes.  To date, there is no order suspending court hearings in contested foreclosure cases (in which the 

homeowner answered the complaint).  Please note, however, that the courthouses are closed, and in-

person hearings are suspended through April 26 under this Supreme Court order.  If you have a court 

hearing scheduled between now and April 26, either it will be held by video or telephone conference, or 

https://www.state.nj.us/dobi/covid/mortgagerelief.html
https://njhousing.gov/foreclosure
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/20-04hsgml.pdf
https://www.fhfa.gov/Media/PublicAffairs/Pages/FHFA-Suspends-Foreclosures-and-Evictions-for-Enterprise-Backed-Mortgages.aspx
https://nlihc.org/coronavirus-and-housing-homelessness
https://nlihc.org/coronavirus-and-housing-homelessness
https://nlihc.org/coronavirus-and-housing-homelessness
https://nj.gov/infobank/eo/056murphy/pdf/EO-106.pdf
https://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2020/Bills/A4000/3859_I1.PDF
https://www.njcourts.gov/courts/superior/foreclosure.html?lang=eng
https://nj.gov/governor/news/news/562020/approved/20200328c.shtml
https://www.njcourts.gov/notices/2020/n200327a.pdf
https://www.njcourts.gov/public/covid19.html
mailto:SCCO.Mailbox@njcourts.gov
https://www.njcourts.gov/notices/2020/n200327a.pdf
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it will be postponed.  Please check with the court where the case is pending if you have questions.  

Please also check the New Jersey Courts website for updates on whether the Court extends the 

suspension of in-person hearings. 

Can my utilities be shut off during the COVID-19 crisis? 

No.  New Jersey’s electric and gas utilities have voluntarily suspended utility shut-offs during the crisis.  

Check New Jersey Board of Public Utilities website for updates.   

In addition, on March 23, the state legislature introduced a bill that would prohibit shutoffs of 

electricity, gas, or water public utility services to residential customers during epidemics such as COVID-

19.  Check the state’s COVID-19 website or the New Jersey Legislature website to stay informed as new 

laws are enacted. 

Do I still have to pay for utilities and water? 

Yes.  You still have to pay your electric, gas, and water bills.  If you cannot pay now, you will have to pay 

later.  The utilities and water companies are not cancelling debts; they are just postponing shutoffs for 

the time being.  DCA offers low-income homeowners assistance with some utility bills. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

https://www.njcourts.gov/public/covid19.html
https://www.bpu.state.nj.us/bpu/newsroom/2020/approved/20200313.html
https://www.bpu.state.nj.us/bpu/newsroom/index.shtml
https://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2020/Bills/A4000/3878_I1.PDF
https://covid19.nj.gov/
https://www.njleg.state.nj.us/bills/BillsByNumber.asp
https://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dhcr/offices/hea.html

